Wow, what a difference some syntax can make

For the past month I’ve been focusing on learning Javascript through Codecademy. While the lessons have been great I’ve had some trouble getting used to the code as there was never a formal lesson on how and when to utilize braces, semi-colons, and white space in the code. When I began the Javascript lessons I was fresh off of a few months of working with Python and it just clanked like a lemon off the show room floor.

Today, I’ve returned to Python. It’s pretty. It’s clean. It’s user-friendly. It’s so much simpler to immediately see what’s happening in the code. Even after two and a half months of learning Javascript I still have trouble seeing the code for what it is. I just opened up a program I was working on in Python and, even though I’m a poor commenter (I know, I know, I need to get into the habit of commenting in my code), I immediately recognized and remembered the rules of the code. That made me excited.

So, I’m back to working through Invent Your Own Games with Python. I’m excited to be back working in Python as it really is such a nice language to look at. Javascript is like that ugly, dull girl who is really into you, but you just do not like. Python is the sweet, girl next-door who you’ve been friends with your whole life and accidentally fall in love with. Python makes the best kind of lady.

Boggle clone, here I come!

Leave a Reply

