A Rough Programming Month

Unfortunately, the past month has been a bit of a let down as far as programming goes. I got behind on my Codecademy lessons, mostly because they were going through the very basics of html/css and it was a bit boring. The lessons have spiced up and I’m again learning a bit more of the finer details of why certain CSS works the way it does. I really need to get the box model memorized so I’m not just fiddling with settings trying to get things to appear nice.

My biggest concern with my html/css is learning how to do pixel perfect implementations across browsers. When I look at Seoul Players in an older browser, it makes me weep a little bit. It doesn’t look awful, but there are a few minor foibles that need to be cleaned up. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to do so just yet. There is some issue with displaying our mailing list sign up form. I believe I know what the issue is, but the code is being pulled from the Mailchimp server and cannot be edited, as far as I know. I’m sure there’s a way to fix it, but I haven’t found the solution yet.

Hopefully these Codecademy lessons get to some more things I didn’t understand before, so I can fix up the site better. As far my Python learning. It has been stalled. I made good progress in my Udacity course, but failed to finish. I really wish I could take a year off of work and really concentrate on working through those lessons as well as other Python tutorials. There is so much free education available, but just not enough time to make use of it.

However, I can make time. I just need to implement that schedule I was talking about last month.

One thought on “A Rough Programming Month

  1. If you like CodeCademy try out CodeAvengers.CodeAvengers is an addictive hot new site that teaches novices the computer programming language of the web: Javascript. The site went live last month with 40 interactive lessons and games. The site aims to be the most fun and effective Javascript tutorial on the web. Script your future NOW, With CodeAvengers.com.
    html/css tutorials will be made if people want it. We would love to hear your feed Back.

Leave a Reply

